Are you thankful for 2015?

 

th

My first blog of 2016 – short and sweet!

2015 was a reflective year for me and my family. There were a few disappointments along the way which we had to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and move on. With one disappointment in particular, I struggled to move on and wanted to know the reason why one of our plans did not pan out. Of course, it is not always clear at the time but we have to trust God. If a door closes then it is for a reason – something far more suitable is on the agenda.

I must add, there were times of great joy and blessings which we are thankful for. It is all too easy to become complacent with the people in our lives and our comfortable surroundings.

I like the following quote:

The things you take for granted, someone else is praying for“.

I spent time looking at my character in 2015. I acknowledged and accepted that although you cannot control your circumstances, you can control the attitude you carry. In 2016, I challenge myself to maintain a good attitude – even when I feel like doing the complete opposite. This should be interesting……….

What did you learn about yourself in 2015?

What will you improve on in 2016?

 

28 thoughts on “Are you thankful for 2015?”

  1. It is a time to look back over the year and be thankful. I often said if you look back on each and every day and be thankful, you find out you have more to be thankful at the end of the year.
    As for bumps we go through, I remember the grandmother in “Parenthood”, who said .”They went on the merry-go-round. That just goes around. Nothing. I like the roller coaster. You get more out of it.”
    Thanks for sharing your post with us.

    Like

  2. Terrific point of view Phoenicia. I’m very grateful for 2015. As with you, not all of my plans worked out, but many did and I learned SO much and had so many new experiences along the way. Like most people I’m always filled with enthusiasm and hope at the beginning of a New Year, but I also have a good plan in place. Still, I’m careful leave a little wiggle room for adventures, I love experimenting and learning, so I’m always up for a new adventure! Happy New Year Phoenicia!

    Like

  3. I learned that I am even stronger than I thought I was. That life can fall apart, but my choice will always be to pick up the pieces and move on. Probably sooner than most. When my walls came tumbling down, I cried and grieved all the while thinking, “There’s still so much to do!”

    Like

  4. I too have been learning a few lessons of gratitude towards the end of 2015. I learned that being grateful for what you have can cover a multitude of yearnings for what you don’t have. And I learned that developing gratitude takes work and is sure to be tested along the way! Wishing the best in 2016!

    Like

  5. Phoenicia, like everyone else 2015 had its good times and bad times, laughter and tears but all in all, much to be thankful for. I love that quote “the things you take for granted, someone else is praying for”. Something worth remembering.

    Like

  6. I’m with you and the others in the bumps along the way in 2015. But overall, it was a very good year with many blessings–family, friends, traveling (so good for my soul!). I think what has really kicked into me–and I think Erica writing about gratitude as well as some other BHBs getting into this topic–has been being very grateful for my blessings.

    Life is short and life is hard. But there are these brisk winter days when my husband and come in from outside and I turn to him and say: I am so grateful we have a warm house with a good furnace. He thinks I’m a lunatic, but that’s okay. Saying that is being so much more grateful than saying: man, I hate how cold it is. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Here’s to an amazing year, Phoenicia!

    Like

  7. That’s a great goal for 2016. Stay positive in all situations. I love it. =) I would even add trust that God will provide exactly what I need when I need it. Have a great year! I am looking forwarding to reading your blog posts.

    Like

  8. Yes, I’m thankful for 2015 and learnt a lot. Have for decades been grateful for what I have but that doesn’t stop me from developing and “improving”. By the way, what are you doing for refugees who have what you take for granted? A lot needs to be done for them in Britain.:-)

    Like

  9. I learned I’m far stronger than I realised. Which was a good thing to know, even if the circumstances were necessarily yucky. I’m going to improve my physical health this year, cos my personality is already amazing! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  10. I learned how impatient and stressful I can be. I am always worrying, doubting, and fearing the worst. Not to be negative, but so I can brace for impact when things do go bad. This year I want to live and have more faith. I want to worry less and calmly rely on God that everything will work out. Hard right?

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment, Victoria. Worrying takes up too much of our time and energy – it adds nothing to our lives yet we do it! I want to remove this from my life in 2016 and completely rely on God to handle those things I cannot.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi Phoenicia,
    I think I hear a lot of sadness in your post, but you are determined to hold your head high and keep going! I’ll be rooting for you!

    It’s important to have an attitude of gratitude. As you said, be thankful for the things we have. That is so true!

    Thanks for this post.

    Rin

    Like

  12. I love that quote as well, Phoenicia. I’m sorry last year had its bumps, but I’m glad to hear that you found a way to get to the other side and find acceptance. I personally have had some of the greatest things in my life happen after a door closed. I have so many memories of being distraught over a loss only to find something wonderful waiting on the other side. And yes, sometimes a loss is just that…loss. I’m wishing you a wonderful 2016. I hope this is just the start to a fantastic year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

