Work in excellence!

I have been thinking about those who live a life of excellence. They do everything to the best of their ability, however menial the task may appear to others. Excellence is not only reserved for those in the public eye, in senior leadership or for those who want to aspire to more than what they are currently doing.  We should all work in excellence, with the intention of receiving great results.  Without excellence we can become complacent and sloppy.  Progress can rarely be made without working in excellence. 

When cleaning your home, I doubt one would get very far if they used a dirty cloth and ineffective cleaning products. If writing a dissertation, one would not fair well if they do not meet the word count or fail to spell and grammar check the content.

Cutting corners only brings disappointment.  It may well present as saving you time now but in the long run it will show you no favours. Your reputation will be at stake and you in turn lower your expectations.  Others can encourage, coach and mentor you but you need to make the decision to push forward and give your all.

Excellence to one person could be seen as average to another as perhaps they work smarter and are generally more competent in a particular area of work.  My daughter is a natural at drawing and anything remotely creative, she is constantly designing and building.  She has more creative skills as a child than I do as an adult. I still have the mindset that if you are not particularly gifted in an area of work it does not excuse you from delivering to the best of your ability.

I recall taking driving lessons 20/21 years ago and my driving instructor chastised me about changing gears. For some reason I would go into fourth gear instead of second and visa versa. He drummed it into me that this would hinder me from passing my test – no kidding! At the time I felt annoyed and irritated that I could not get this right. I made up my mind that I would focus on my gears as I had to pass my test first time.  The lessons were expensive as at the time I was a student and it cost almost £100 just to take your test. Suffice to say I got a grip on changing into the correct gear and passed first time.  Looking back, I would have continued until I passed as I was intent on being a driver- the fact I did not have a car did not matter one bit!

Do you veer towards working in excellence?
What have you sacrificed?