Work in excellence!

I have been thinking about those who live a life of excellence. They do everything to the best of their ability, however menial the task may appear to others. Excellence is not only reserved for those in the public eye, in senior leadership or for those who want to aspire to more than what they are currently doing.  We should all work in excellence, with the intention of receiving great results.  Without excellence we can become complacent and sloppy.  Progress can rarely be made without working in excellence. 

When cleaning your home, I doubt one would get very far if they used a dirty cloth and ineffective cleaning products. If writing a dissertation, one would not fair well if they do not meet the word count or fail to spell and grammar check the content.

Cutting corners only brings disappointment.  It may well present as saving you time now but in the long run it will show you no favours. Your reputation will be at stake and you in turn lower your expectations.  Others can encourage, coach and mentor you but you need to make the decision to push forward and give your all.

Excellence to one person could be seen as average to another as perhaps they work smarter and are generally more competent in a particular area of work.  My daughter is a natural at drawing and anything remotely creative, she is constantly designing and building.  She has more creative skills as a child than I do as an adult. I still have the mindset that if you are not particularly gifted in an area of work it does not excuse you from delivering to the best of your ability.

I recall taking driving lessons 20/21 years ago and my driving instructor chastised me about changing gears. For some reason I would go into fourth gear instead of second and visa versa. He drummed it into me that this would hinder me from passing my test – no kidding! At the time I felt annoyed and irritated that I could not get this right. I made up my mind that I would focus on my gears as I had to pass my test first time.  The lessons were expensive as at the time I was a student and it cost almost £100 just to take your test. Suffice to say I got a grip on changing into the correct gear and passed first time.  Looking back, I would have continued until I passed as I was intent on being a driver- the fact I did not have a car did not matter one bit!

Do you veer towards working in excellence?
What have you sacrificed?

18 thoughts on “Work in excellence!”

  1. It gives me excellent enjoyment to look at your website and delight in your excellent content here .Very userful blog i highly appreciate it .This type of blog keep user interaction with the website .

    Like

  2. Hello Phoenicia,

    As far as i am concerned, no matter what we do, we should try to work with excellence. Though we may not excel in every field but this does enhances our performance.

    Smart work coupled with sincere efforts can bring wonderful results.

    Like

  3. For me, I am my own worse critic. I think because things, such as sports, never came easy to me. I had to work at them, and hence I am never satisfied with the results.
    I know I can never be perfect, but not being able to be perfect, is what drives me to try to be perfect.

    Like

  4. I appreciate the reminder to strive for excellence, not just good enough AND the reminder that we can’t excel at everything, we have to let some things go!

    Like

  5. Wonderful topic Phoenicia! I certainly agree with your point about the value of striving for excellence. I can also see Dr. Rin’s point because it takes time and energy to strive for excellence and at some point, priorities must be considered. This reminds me of the book Talent is Overrated. The point of the book is that what separates the highly successful from the average is not talent but focused effort. Interesting conversation! 🙂

    Like

  6. As children, we were always taught to work as hard as we could, no matter the job or what we were getting paid (if any) to do it. Along with that went that we did the job as well as our abilities allowed. It was a valuable lesson and one of the ones I have kept all of my life, as have my siblings.

    Like

  7. Phoenicia, I like the way you included ‘cleaning your home’. It is important to do this well yet this is one area where we tend to let go – with a lot of excuses of course – “we don’t have time or I’ll do it when I get back, etc.” I’m guilty so maybe your post will help keep me on track.:)

    Like

  8. Hi Phoenicia,
    I think it is important to strive for excellence in certain areas, but not in everything. To me, to try to be excellent in everything I do is an impossible dream. I know that there are areas where I am just not equipped mentally or physically to do what is necessary to be excellent. For example, when I learned to ski, I tried my best, but I could never master some of the difficult skills of downhill skiing. The best I could ever be was “beginning intermediate”. I had to be satisfied with that level, and enjoy my skiing vacations with the skills that I had.

    I learned that I was a good writer. That helped me to choose a profession and later on, to decide to write a blog.

    I know that I am not good at drawing or painting; my art teachers let me know that clearly. But instead of being disappointed in myself, or beating myself to do better, I turned to other forms of artistic expression: sewing and beading.

    As long as a person can excel at a few things, then the person can feel satisfied. Each of us has some gifts and talents, and it’s important to discover them and use them to the best of our abilities. That’s how I look at excellence.

    Dr Rin

    Like

    1. Thank you for your take on excellence Dr Rin. Indeed nobody is good at everything. You mention skiing on an intermediate level which was probably you working in excellence. It may well not look this way to an expert skier.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

