Embracing everyday life

0c7583f30a6f6ce8bdce4ef921f0856a_jpg_cf_

The past month has been busy, hence why I took a small break from blogging. Oh how I missed it though!

I attended; several meetings at my daughter’s school, church outreach event, worship team weekend, plus I moved into a new role at work.

Without my to do lists, reminders on my smartphone, praying and reading the bible I would truly struggle to find a balance and peace in my life.

There has been a large element of change lately, some elements I have embraced far more easily than others. I truly believe that during adversity our character and attitude are tested. There are some things we have very little control over but it is how we deal with them that matters.

I have in the past had major difficulty embracing the monotonous aspects of life which are necessary but can be “oh so tedious!” I tried to fight against these things but it was a losing battle and I was miserable in the process.

The Serenity Prayer always inspires and challenges me;
“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

Now I enjoy carrying out everyday tasks by doing the following;

1. Listening to music/audio bible when doing housework/cooking

2. Involving the children where possible – yes it is far easier to do tasks alone but so important to engage with them

How do you deal with change?

What have you put in place to embrace rather than endure your days?

6 thoughts on “Embracing everyday life”

  1. I think I generally cope well with change, but am currently dealing with a situation with a family member that feels more like something to endure than embrace. Your post has reminded me to look for the embraceable moments in a sad time.

    Like

  2. Hi Phoenicia. I think the key is to accept change and be willing to learn from it. You don’t necessarily have to like or embrace all changes. But as long as you keep an open mind and focus on the lesson to be learned, it will help you continue moving forward in your journey of growth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.