Declutter your wardrobe

th

It is that time of year again, when you begin to prepare for warmer days.  There is something very significant about spring. For me it brings a sense of newness and change. Spring is a time when curtains are taken down and cleaned, windows are shined and gardens tended to.  I rotate my wardrobe so out of season items are kept in the loft. I am only required to make this change twice a year therefore it is not too much of a hassle. My husband rolls his eyes when I ask him to take down my clothes and footwear from the loft. He has clothes for every season in his wardrobe so it looks far busier than mine.

Children very rarely wear clothes from one year to the next. My children’s wardrobes are far easier to manage.

My tips for decluttering your wardrobe;

1. Make a pile of clothes that fit, flatter you and are in good condition.  These are definite keeps.

2. Make a pile of clothes that you like but for some reason do not wear. Perhaps they do not match other garments in your wardrobe. You will keep these with the intention of buying clothes to match. If in six months you have not worn the garment, give to charity.

3.  Make a pile of clothes that do not fit, were impulse buys or look tatty. Bin the tatty clothes without looking back. The remainder can be given to charity.

4. Avoid the temptation of buying clothes that are too small in the hope that this will be an incentive for you to lose weight.

5. Avoid buying clothes solely because they are in a sale. Think – would you spend full price on the item?  I have been burned a number of times by this. I saw a multicoloured dress retailed at half price and bought it with no idea where I would wear it.  Arrived home and realised I did not even like it!

6. Try to create a capsule wardrobe – only buying separates that can be matched to a number of items in your wardrobe. Less clothes but a variety of looks! Access link for more details; www.http://theproject333.com/how-to-build-a-capsule-wardrobe/

Do you impulse by or shop with the intention of complimenting your wardrobe?

Perhaps you have a few tips to share.

43 thoughts on “Declutter your wardrobe”

  1. Great advice Phoenicia! Decluttering wardrobe is therapeutic for the mind and spirit. I typically go through 2 major cleanings in the year, and give the clothes I don’t need to charity.You can always make room for less clutter.

    Like

  2. Love #5–I deplore shopping for clothes. I would rather go to the dentist. So I tend to buy things with red stickers on the tags and then realize six months later that I don’t like it. Since I have been working from home for three years, my wardrobe needs are thankfully smaller. So now I work to buy the things I really like–although I still like the red stickers!

    Like

  3. I’m not an impulse shopper at all. I do need to grab a couple pair of shorts for the summer though.

    Like

  4. I am not a big shopper, clothes especially. I have what I have and I have clothes for every occasion. I have also purged in the past and tend to live pretty free of things in general. My oldest shirt and one I wear when it’s hot was first purchased in 1986 🙂

    Like

  5. My wardrobe is surprisingly sparse compared to some closets I’ve seen. I guess that’s my secret… just keeping items to a minimum means I don’t have to rotate my wardrobe. My weak spot would be sweaters since I love them and probably have to many.

    Like

  6. I like your post; I need to unclutter my closet. I also liked you used the phrase, “Pile of Clothes”, I must be half way there, because all I have is a pile of clothes in my closet to begin with. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. When I was working I didn’t have time to worry about clothes so I did have a mix and match setup – everything went with everything else. I don’t like shopping so therefore am not an impulse shopper. Now that I’m retired I need very few clothes, mostly jeans around home and a few nice outfits for going away. The only real seasonal items I own are coats and jackets and I have a closet for those. Makes life simple.

    Like

    1. It sounds as though you are on the right track Lenie. When I was on maternity leave I required fewer clothes whereas I do not think you can have too much going in to the office.

      Like

    1. Glad you find my points useful. I do know a few women who avoid sales like the plague! They simply cannot cope with looking through rails and rails. I on the other hand love the idea of purchasing an item at a reduced cost.

      Like

  8. Guilty! I’m terrible when I see the word “sale” but I also have a deal with myself – if I buy something new, I have to “recycle” something old. But it’s so hard sometimes. There are clothes in my closet that will never fit or come back into style, but I feel the need to keep for sentimental reasons. And don’t get me started on my “lucky” black jacket! Thanks for reminding me, it’s time to pitch a few items of under-utilized clothing!

    Like

    1. Krystyna – I try to adopt the system of one item in, one item out. I need to be more ruthless. As for the ‘black jacket’ – every woman needs at least two!

      Like

  9. Boy, is this ever a timely post for me. I really like the idea of a capsule wardrobe. I really need to work on that and soon. I find I keep certain items in my wardrobe for sentimental reasons that never get worn. I think it’s time to let them go and move on, don’t you?

    Like

  10. I like the idea of a capsule wardrobe. I’m getting closer to that state, but aren’t quite there yet. I find I have certain items in my wardrobe I wear very often because I like how they fit, I feel good in them and they go well with a lot of things. I’m trying to look for that quality when I shop now.

    Like

  11. Some good ideas. If you go through a whole season and don’t wear something it’s just taking up space. Theoretically I give those things away too although I’m not sure I’m as diligent about it as I’d like to think.

    Like

  12. I loved this and my closet needs some real help. Unfortunately, I don’t have much room to store things when I’m not using them so my closet gets super stuffed. Additionally, I really need to go shopping because my wardrobe really needs to be refreshed.

    I think I will start with your advice to get rid of the stuff that is completely dingy. To be honest, there is a significant percentage of my current wardrobe that I really have no intent on wearing. Might as well get rid of it!

    Like

  13. I really like the idea of only buying clothes that are on sale if you would be willing to pay full price for them. I think I do that pretty much of the time but I will remember your suggestion and keep it top of mind when I need to buy clothing again.

    Like

  14. I have mixed feelings about the seas change when it comes to clothes – it ranges from – ooh great , I get to wear different clothes , to oh dear I have to haul all my sweaters and drag out all my short sleeve shirts. But you make an excellent point of using this as an opportunity to get rid of things that don’t fit. It’s always hard to let go of things.

    Like

    1. It is an effort but so worth it! I agree that it can be difficult to get rid of a favourite item especially when it holds wonderful memories. I say take photographs of yourself wearing outfits you want to remember in years to come.

      Like

  15. My closet is organized by color. I have all the winter items together and all the spring ones together. Yes; it’s a walk in closet all my own. I grabbed the bigger of the 2 when my husband and I built our home years ago. Now if I had thrown away the one size too small clothes after about 7 years of not getting into them, my celebration of losing 17 pounds last year and getting back into them – would have been lost!

    Love the ideas in your post like avoiding impulse buys!

    Like

    1. A walk in closet – how fortunate you are! I would love to have all my clothes hung up but space does not permit it. One day…..

      Congrats on shedding 17lb!

      Glad you enjoyed reading my tips.

      Like

  16. I also really like your suggestion on capsule wardrobe! I have to admit i seldom buy clothing since I started working from home. I live on a tropical Island where extreme casual is the norm and I very rarely have ‘client meetings’ anymore so my business attire is now become a bit dated and probably should be donated to a local nonprofit which would make more room in my closet and give me a good excuse to go shopping! Thanks!

    Like

    1. You live on a tropical island? Sounds bliss!
      I can imagine working from home may make one comfortable in dressing down. I love giving to charity; great to bless others less fortunate and I get rid of items I no longer need.

      Like

  17. I just heard about capsule wardrobes from a friend the other day, and I think it’s such a great idea! I have a small closet, so I do have to switch out all my clothes twice a year, which turns out to be a good thing, because that’s when I declutter.

    Like

  18. Personally have a lot of clothes and shoes. Never buy anything unless I need it and it’s a classical design that will last forever. A lot of the clothes I still wear are classical desinger clothes I bought 15-20 years ago in London at placees like Harvey Nichols. Personally find that’s the best way of being well dressed. And in the long run it’s cheap to buy great quality. When we buy something cheap it doesn’t last.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I stick to classics as they rarely date. Also I do not buy clothes often enough to go for ‘high fashion’. At times I feel my look is a little boring and I would love to be one of those women who have a variety of looks depending on the occasion.

      Like

  19. Best advice ever…don’t buy clothes because they are on sale. I learned that the hard way, when I found lots of clothes with tags still on! Now I declutter all the time:)

    Like

    1. Clothes with tags on? You obviously had far too many in the first place!

      Buying in the sales is only of benefit if you purchase clothes you would happily pay the full price for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

