Enjoy the moment – you will not get it back!

 

Last Tuesday my train was cancelled which meant a 30 minute delay.  I was understandably annoyed. It was cold and I was now late for work. Thank you South Eastern trains – you never fail to cancel trains at random in the winter months! Anyway, I suddenly felt down and disheartened and this was at 8.10am, I still had to get through the rest of the day with a good spirit. After grumbling in my head whilst wearing a face like a wet weekend, I retrieved my mobile phone and began to read my online bible. I will not have you believe I was instantly uplifted but I certainly felt better in myself after ten minutes or so.

Regardless of minor mishaps and delays, we should enjoy the moment and look at the positive side of life. We can choose not to but this will do absolutely nothing to change the situation. Whether miserable or cheerful I had to stand on that platform and wait for the next available train. As a child I did not fully  understand the saying “there is no use crying over spilt milk”. I did not care much about the saying. If I felt upset,  surely I had the right to express this until I felt a little better.

Worrying about our future and events we have no control over can hinder us enjoying today. We can tell ourselves that once we have X, Y and Z then we can be happy and then we can enjoy life.  We can all fall foul of waiting impatiently for the next stage in life to come believing it will be so much better than the last; a couple with young children willing for their children to become teenagers and less dependant on them, an employee miserable in their current job assuming they will be doing cartwheels in a new job, a young person tired of being told what to do and craving adulthood. Choose to enjoy the here and now as life does not quite pan out the way we expect it to.  I refrained from using the word “never” as there may well be some of you who have ticked off every box on your list of life goals.

Five ways you can work towards enjoying each moment;

1. Try not to take yourself so seriously – learn to laugh at yourself.

2. Stop seeking perfection as it will never come. By all means put back up plans in place wherever possible.

3. Work with an element of flexibility

4. Each morning write five reasons to be thankful

5. Once a week, factor in an activity you enjoy doing

How do you enjoy the moment with the daily  challenges of life?

What advice would you give to someone who finds it difficult to see the positive in life?

24 thoughts on “Enjoy the moment – you will not get it back!”

  1. Love the line from ‘Kung Fu Panda” “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is mystery but today is a gift that is why it is called “Present”
    We have today, this instant. Tomorrow becomes, this instant, and after it is gone, it is gone forever, for it is a memory. Enjoy life today, right now, for eventually, instants run out.

    Like

  2. I try to enjoy the moment simply by being present and away from technology. On my morning commute, I prefer to take in the scenery even during a train delay. I should try writing reasons to be thankful to start the day off with a positive attitude. Thanks for sharing Phoenicia!

    Like

  3. There’s a saying that those who live in the past live in depression, and those who live in the future live in anxiety. I’m doing what I can each and every day to get better at living in the moment and making the best of now.

    Like

    1. Interesting saying Jeri. I must find out who quoted this. We must try to enjoy the here and now and not allow what may and in many cases may not, impact on our current state of mind. Even as a child I thought about the future far too often.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. How do I enjoy the moments…I had to think about that one. But, I think I enjoy the moments by “stopping.” Like the Bible says, “Be still and know that I am God.” But one can also “Be still” and see the big picture and the precious moment of now in it. And, this may not be times of physical stillness. It can be on a good bike ride, a rhythmic swim, a smooth run listening to your own breathing, whenever we can “Be still” and feel blessed.

    Like

  5. Such an important message! I learned a life-altering lesson many years ago when I worked in travel. In those days I spent weeks at a time out of the country and will be the first to admit I grew lax when it came to getting to the airport early.

    On this particular day as I was headed down the mountain to the airport traffic came to a dead stop because of an accident. Time was ticking and I started stressing out about missing my flight. By the time I finally snaked my way past the logjam I was freaking out and jammed the gas trying to make up time. To be honest, I scared the heck out of myself by passing cars with great abandon and could easily have caused my own accident. I made it to the airport and getting through security and to my gate was another nightmare. Thank heavens the flight wasn’t sold out or they would have given my seat away but I got there just as they were about to close the doors.

    From that moment on I have made a point of being early to everything. I’d much rather wait than ever go through that kind of stress again!

    Like

    1. What a stressful experience Marquita. It is weird how panic can have this effect on us. When we were travelling to Morocco our check in took a lot longer and our departure was at least a 20 minute walk (it felt like it anyway). I ran with our son leaving my husband and daughter behind. What was I thinking? Did I plan to board without them? Of course we made it and I was completely out of breath once on the aeroplane. I am sure I had a mini anxiety attack.

      Like

  6. It’s so hard to calm down when things happen like you mentioned: a train is cancelled or late, a flight is delayed, a package does not arrive. It usually takes me a few minutes to recover from disappointment. Then I tell myself that it’s not the end of the world. I take some deep breaths. I then try to think how I will use the suddenly-available time: reading, napping, catching up on Facebook, etc. After 10 or 15 minutes, I’m usually recovered and ready to enjoy the moment. Thanks for your post!

    Like

    1. Interesting quote from Jane Fonda. At times our attitude makes all the difference when faced with obstacles. We have to work on maintaining a good attitude and it is not easy at all but in no way impossible.

      Like

  7. It’s very difficult to find moments of happiness when darkness is the only thing that you see. In those testing times, we can only carry on our duties with patience and try to rekindle the fighting spirit.

    Like

    1. Moumita – I have been there when you cannot see any form of hope – only dread and despair. I have struggled to “see the light at the end of the tunnel” and was thankful when the season was over. Nothing lasts forever but it feels like a lifetime when you are “in it”.

      Thank you for being real.

      Like

  8. This is a very well-written post, Phoenicia. In my current life, I have really had to learn how to be flexible, how to roll with the punches, and how to forget about achieving perfection. Just getting the job done is often enough for me to celebrate.

    Like

  9. I love this post, Phoenicia (especially reading it after coffee and while fully awake and functioning)! You are spot on about living in the now and appreciating the spot we are at in life instead of always dreaming of what’s ahead. I’m always way far down the road in my head and am lucky to have a husband who is rarely there–he keeps me in the now. I love your five tips!

    Like

    1. Rose Mary – I have a tendency to look ahead. I did this when my children were babies. I willed them to get to the toddler stage unaware each stage has its own challenges. Looking ahead robs you of appreciating today. Our husbands are alike in that they reel us back in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

