Patience

img_0801

I had always assumed waiting meant you were a patient person. Then I realised that often we have no choice but to wait; no matter how hard we push and fight it will not bring us any closer to what we are waiting for.

Patience is not merely waiting but waiting with a good attitude. Patience is knowing you do not yet have all you desire but have made a conscious choice to be joyful each day. Easier said than done – certainly for me as this is an area in which I have struggled in.

There were particular periods in my life when I have had to wait for years and in some cases am still waiting. You know when you truly desire a thing and you do everything within your power to receive it but this is not enough? A part of me just would not accept I had to wait. I did not want to wait and felt (for some absurd) reason I should not have to.

It began to affect my outlook on life and took the little joy I had. It was all too consuming. What I am about to share may come across as strange but I recall thinking “I cannot appear too joyful as God may assume I no longer require this as urgently and I may have to wait longer”. Absolutely bizarre thought pattern but I can assure you this ran through my mind.

We will always be working towards the next stage in life which will involve an element of waiting. We cannot escape it therefore why not wait with a good and upbeat attitude?

I have identified two tips that can assist you with working towards waiting patiently:

1. Look back at your goals/journal from the previous year and identify what you have achieved. No matter how big or small, it is all relevant. This will serve as a good reminder.

2. Be thankful for what you do have on a daily basis. Remember there are people less fortunate than you are.

How do you deal with waiting?
Have you put mechanisms in place?
What impact does it have on those closest to you?

Perhaps you can add some of your tips.

22 thoughts on “Patience”

  1. I could say my go to line, “I could of been a doctor, but I did not have the patience” it is better if you hear it.
    I know for me being patient is more than a virtue, it is basic to my core. It is also a talent or skill, like most skills, it is something that must be taught, and practiced before you can master it.

    Like

  2. Hi Phoenicia; I noticed a couple things in this post. One you probably didn’t realize was important. You changed the wording from pushing for to receiving. This is an important switch in attitude and I wish you had given it more attention. Next, you mentioned two techniques that are both part of the same thing that being gratitude. I have coined the phrase that you can’t have an effective vision board without a gratitude boarder. I also like to remember something my dad used to say. He would say that recounting the money won’t make it grow but recounting your blessings will. Take care my friend, Max

    Like

    1. I am slightly confused by your first point.

      Regarding your second point, I think my two suggestions differ slightly but of course you are entitled to have an opinion.

      I hope you revisit my blog soon.

      Like

  3. Phoenicia it’s no just you, many I know are still under the impression that ‘waiting meant you were a patient person’ at least we understand and learn from the mistakes when we make, while many don’t.

    Patience grows as does our wisdom, what do you think about it, dear 🙂

    Like

  4. Good article on patience! That is such a hard one because it is easy to want everything NOW! I don’t always like being patient, but I don’t like giving up either. So I often just have to accept that “not now” doesn’t mean “never”. I like the idea of journaling every small (or big) accomplishment from the previous year. It is easy to overlook the good and focus on what is still desired. So this can help put things in perspective.

    Like

  5. Ah, this is a good one. I can have the patience of a saint when I am teaching someone something they want to learn.
    But, give me an inanimate object that doesn’t work right, stick me in frozen Pittsburgh traffic, or put with a person who delights in being stupid…and all my patience disappears. I work on this attitude daily and try very hard to laugh at myself when yet again yelling at my computer!

    Like

    1. I am a lot like Rose Mary this way. When it comes to others, whether it was when I was in the classroom or with people in my life who have some some thoughtless things, I am an extremely patient person. Yet, if I have to fix something at home I become my father’s daughter and curse whatever it is I am trying to repair in the worst of ways. I do remind myself to breathe as I work on things, but that’s easier said than done at times.

      Like

  6. I have a long history of waiting for various events to unfold, mostly because I had no other choice. For me, it’s all about the attitude I choose to live with while I am waiting. I figure I can be miserable, or I can be happy and life is just too short to opt for the former. Great topic!

    Like

  7. I consider myself a patient person, but I too have had instances where I struggle with having to wait for something. Especially when that something is what I desperately want and have prayed for for years without any result. I agree that we have to just be grateful for what we have now and trust that God will make everything great in His time.

    Like

    1. He certainly will make everything great. Waiting though painful, helps us grow in character. We are strengthened through the challenges. Thank you for sharing your experience.

      Like

  8. Hi Phoenicia,
    I enjoyed this post. It was a good reminder to me to improve my attitude and capacity for patience.

    I use the two methods you mentioned (looking back at previous achievements and giving thanks) to help me with being patient. Also, I use two other methods: (1) I repeat the saying from the movie “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”: “Everything will be all right in the end. If it is not all right now, then this is not the end.” (2) I remind myself of Hebrews 11 and Hebrews 12: 1-12. These parts of the New Testament list all the people in the Bible who did not receive what they hoped for, but still kept their faith, and remind us that we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses and should not give up!

    Dr Rin

    Like

    1. Thanks for your encouraging addition to my article. There were indeed many who did not live to see promises that had been made. They had faith these would manifest in the generations to come.

      Like

  9. Patience has always been a virtue that I’ve had to work at. I am not by nature, a patient person. But when you live with someone who is many years your elder, you learn patience — step by step. And I’m now a better person for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

