Attitude is everything


Maintaining a good attitude shows strength of character, that despite the challenges you are able to remain grounded and personable.

I have been giving a lot of thought towards attitude – mine in particular. I question my attitude when life is running smoothly in comparison to when challenges arise. There is a distinctive difference! 

At times I am under pressure, I begin to feel a little anxious and out of my depth. It is in these moments I am more likely to be irritable and moody. This automatically creates a bad attitude which has a negative impact on those around me. 

It may not appear this way but everyone faces challenges whether struggles in relationships, finances, emotionally or physically. There comes a point when you must take responsibility for the way you behave (this includes me too). You must endeavour to work on the attitudes which has become a part of your life; a bad habit. It is a behaviour that has been learnt over the months or years, which means it can also be unlearnt. 

For years I made excuses for having a not so great attitude in some areas, blaming everyone but me. I had excuses galore as to why I behaved in a particular way;
“She/he made me feel”               

 “This is the way I am”

“You do not know what I have faced”

I knew changing my attitude would take perseverence which is why it was easier to continue hiding behind my many excuses.  

Looking inwards and trying to fix particular areas in your life takes a realisation that though you can stay as you are – you no longer wish to. You want to be the best person you can be for yourself and others. It is difficult to positively influence others and have a true impact on their lives with a bad attitude.  

Are there particular areas in which you can develop a better attitude? 

Did you actively work on the attitude you now have? 

What kept you focused when it seemed an impossible task? 

24 thoughts on “Attitude is everything”

  1. An attitude is an inward thought that wiggles its way out. Just like Winston S. Churchill says “Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.” 🙂

    Like

  2. For me, my focus is on being positive because I think that a positive attitude will give you positive results. Of course, there will be times when a certain someone will disappoint you or make you angry or but you alone can control your attitude. The way I think about it is that if I lash out or reply with the same attitude I’m given then it’ll be like a never-ending cycle.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the post Phoenicia. My attitude is often a reflection of my surroundings, so naturally it fluctuates. I feel my best when I’m recharged, so often a little r&r is the key to tackling day to day hurdles.

    Like

  4. Wonderful post, Phoenicia. I think we all need to work on our attitudes on an ongoing basis. We are all a “work in progress!” I have found that my attitude overall has become much better from living with my husband. He is much older than I, so I have had to develop a much stronger level of patience for everything. It was SO hard at first. But now, I have learned to accept what is, and be grateful for what we have and share.

    Like

  5. I often wonder about people with bad attitudes. I do not get it. You have to have an attitude, why not make it a good one. I think you would enjoy it better, and people would enjoy being around you better too.

    Like

  6. Important topic Phoenicia. I see our attitude as a filter that colors the world around us – for better or worse. Because of my work, I tend to work at self-awareness, but never attempt to delude myself into thinking in terms of perfection. How boring that would be! We all have our quirky bits and pieces that make us who we are and I think it’s important to embrace them. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  7. I am working on changing my attitude toward life. I live in the problems of my past, but someone recently pointed out to me that I don’t have to continue taking those problems with me that are in my past. That made a lot of sense to me. I need to give myself permission to change my attitude and focus.

    Like

  8. This morning I had to get up at 5 o’clock to get to an early lecture on time. Worked out fine for the simple reason that I love being back at university. That’s attitude for you. Am NOT a morning person but my attitude made such an early start fine.

    Like

  9. Agreed. Attitude effects everything. Even changing it a bit can make a huge difference. Just being thankful for little things in your life helps your attitude. I have to remind myself of this at times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

