The art of organising family days out!

th-1

As we are in the height of summer I thought it would be useful to give some tips on organising family days out. Whether you do not have children, have little ones or yours have flown the nest; you may pick up one or two pointers which will make planning in the future easier. 

My two children are still young so rely on my husband and me for entertainment. How fortunate are we? My daughter would go out every single day of the school holidays if she had her way – she has little concept of time or money.  To balance the days out (and because we are full-time working parents), we plan days out every other day. This way they have one day to relax at home and the following day we go out.

I have to admit, I get as excited about day trips as my children, especially when we are travelling a relatively far distance from home. I am a born explorer and thrive on being in new environments!

My five tips for organising day trips;

1. Identify your budget. What exactly do you have to spend on a short break/day trips for the month? Be realistic and give yourself enough room to live comfortably day to day. 

2. Identify the places you would most like to visit. Involve the family whether that be your children or other extended family members. 

3. Check the weather (applies to those in the UK) before assigning trips to specific days. It is probably obvious but we go to the beach/theme parks on the warmest days and museums/cinema on the coolest days.

4. As well as entry fees if applicable, consider lunch expenditure whether bringing a picnic or eating out, money for ice-cream, drinks and souvenirs.

5. Go with great expectations and be flexible. The day may not go exactly as planned but enjoy it anyway. Cherish the time spent with those you love. 

Do you arduously plan family days out in advance or are you more of a spur of the moment person? 

24 thoughts on “The art of organising family days out!”

  1. I rarely go on a real vacation but I love day trips. I live in California where there are tons of places where I can drive for the day. This Saturday is my birthday and I’m going on a day trip about an hour from my house. It is a place that has saunas, healing waters, mud baths and gardens. It is always sunny where I love (since we’re having a historic drought) so there are rarely surprises with the weather. That at least makes it easier to plan.

    Like

  2. I tend to really enjoy planning outings, which is a good thing since my boyfriend and his son are more spur-of-the moment type people. We balance each other out that way. I knew a family with five kids who did a road trip all the way from Idaho to Alaska. They rarely at out and saved a ton of money. I like to do enough planning so I don’t miss the “must see” but also like to leave wiggle room as well.

    Like

  3. Hi Phoenicia and happy summer! I don’t have children, so don’t think in terms of family days. But I DO love spending time with my friends and family members during summer, enjoying BBQ’s, having drinks, going for nice walks and drives, and just soaking it all in. Cheers!

    Like

  4. Phoenicia I and my husband whenever we have time on our side we travel or have a short day trip near by. I would say we spur the moment

    Like

  5. Since it’s just me and my husband, we are spur of the moment on most of our in-area trips. Like you, we will opt for parks on the nice weather days and head for the abundant museums of Pittsburgh on the inclement days (like you, we get a lot of those). Bigger trips involve the budget planning, etc. I happily shared this with friends who have small kids.

    Like

  6. Phoenicia — I don’t have children but those tips can apply to anyone. I would add that it’s always a good idea to ask friends if they have visited the places that are on your list. Some theme parks are great at advertising, but short on delivering once you get there.

    Like

  7. I can assure you Phoenicia that it doesn’t get easier as your kids get older. I have a 12-year-old son. If he’s going to spend the day with his parents it’s got to be something pretty good to get him interested.

    Like

  8. Nice post! I love family outings and family days out. I used to not like them as much when I was younger when my parents used to drag me to museums and national parks when all I wanted to do was stay home and read comics. But now that I’m older and don’t get to go out much with my parents on outings anymore, I kinda miss it haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

