The balancing act of life

balancing.jpg.cf

Life really can be one big balancing act. I find as priorities change, one must take time out to re-evaluate. What matters today may not be high priority in a year’s time. Even when we think our days are pretty much the same, the world is constantly moving forward. 

There will always be something or someone to take up our time. It is down to us to decide what is most important. With all the best intentions in the world we could never meet the needs of everyone. Therefore we need to be realistic with what we can truly take on. It is far better to say no from the onset than to reluctantly say yes and be half in and half out. People will actually respect you for being upfront.

When I started my blog (almost three years ago), I began to network via Facebook and LinkedIn and I joined twitter much later.  I was determined to “put myself out there”. I joined only a few forums as I felt it was best to wade in slowly. I found twitter overwhelming to say the least and felt a little like a fish out of water.  I found many bloggers and entrepreneurs tweet almost every ten minutes. I knew I could not commit to this and quite frankly did not wish to. I worried I would fail to connect with others and my blog would suffer as a result.

A few years on and my blog is still going strong. I do not have 1000 followers – yet! However, I enjoy sharing my ideas and learning from other bloggers.  Yes, I want my blog to succeed but I also need to make time to pray, read the word, spend time with my family, serve in church ministry AND hold down a demanding full-time job. It is possible to bring balance in our lives. It will mean saying no and regularly identifying what is essential and what can be left whether indefinitely or for a period of time. 

Do you feel you are constantly juggling one task after another or do you put measures in place to bring about a nice balance? 

25 thoughts on “The balancing act of life”

  1. Haha, that could be me in your illustration! Sometimes I need to step back and do some serious prioritizing, because I just don’t have the bandwidth to deal with multiple issues. And sometimes, I even make a little time for myself! We get caught up in the “busyness” of our day-to-day routines that this often gets lost in the shuffle. When you think you can’t take some time to yourself, that’s probably when you need it most of all.

    Like

    1. I learnt there will always be one more thing to do whether at home or work. For this reason it important to slot in “me time” otherwise you will get bogged down with the doing.

      Like

  2. I love your picture up top…so cute.

    I still haven’t fully embraced Twitter. I personally enjoy Facebook much more. I just can’t get into the 140 character thing. Of course I o Tweet, but certainly not throughout the day. However, now that I’ve been using Periscope almost daily, my scopes get tweeted out. And that has made me more active on Twitter, kind of by default.

    Like

  3. I do okay with life balance, but it’s largely because I’ve opted to have less to balance. Even then, I still take time to make sure I pursue hobbies, get the chores done, and get my work done. My latest task is to take some online coding classes with a friend so we can motivate each other.

    Like

  4. This is a good post, I too was in the same situation.
    Balancing everything is good, I also found out just accepting things too. I know people who get so upset because someone left a comment, that did not fit their “criteria” and it might hurt their placing in google search etc.
    I kind of accepting my blog for what it is. I am thankful if someone leaves any comment., and if I get a bunch of followers, great, if not, well the world will not end.
    Thanks for sharing this with us.

    Like

  5. I think everyone has issues with balancing life, so take heart that you aren’t alone. A friend practices a To NOT do list. I like that idea. She defines all the things she won’t participate in, which helps her stay balanced.
    I still don’t get twitter. Or people who blog every day. Yikes.

    Like

  6. Life is a constant balancing act and we have to priotitize as much as possible. But then again, there is no avoiding having to deal with issues and happenings that we did not expect. Sometimes they have high priority sometimes not.

    Like

  7. I think that the point you make about re-evaluating is important. I know sometimes I have found myself doing things that a some point in my life seemed to matter but that no longer should be given any priority.

    Like

  8. I often feel like life is a balancing act. I no longer have children at home and am retired from my first career, so the things I am balancing are items I’ve chosen to take on and get involved it, which makes it a little easier to balance I think.

    Like

  9. Hi Phoenicia,
    I am constantly juggling tasks and responsibilities, even though I am supposed to be “retired”. But I can’t sit idle. I am moving house, and hope to be able to create some balance when I am settled there in a new environment. Thanks for your post.

    Like

    1. Dr Rin – I too am a doer by nature. Even when retired I will still have my hands in a few pots. I do welcome life slowin down just a little. My husband jokes the only time I am still is when I am sleeping!

      Like

Leave a Reply

