Where do you go for inspiration?

Inspiration on a chalkboard
Inspiration on a chalkboard

As a blogger, I like to keep my content fresh and current. There have been occasions including this week where I am at a loss with what to write.  Perhaps my week has been loaded with activities and I have not given myself “that space” to think about what I would like to share.  I only like to write when I have a passion and am enthusiastic about my subject.  To me it is pointless writing for writings sake.

Yesterday afternoon, I thought about my blog content for the week. Usually I jot down a few titles in advance with notes; something to draw from when I am truly stuck. Clearly I had nothing to draw from this week!

I often read other blogs which gives me great ideas for my blog.  It really does help to look at the writing style of others; identify how they “bring out” a topic and the way in which their personality flows out of each blog. Every blogger puts their own stamp on an article and this is what makes us gravitate towards them (or not!)

Business owners/leaders must face the challenge of not knowing how to move forward. Not knowing how to break out of their current way of working by embracing new ideas. I wonder where their inspiration derives from. The fresh ideas that ensure they are a leading competitor and are recognised by customers/clients. Certainly, they may work in conjuction with those who possess great marketing and promoting skills but the buck still lies with them. They are the face and name behind the product or service.

It was interesting to read Bill Gates takes himself off to a quiet place for two weeks of each year to reflect, reset and rethink his goals and aspirations. It must be refreshing to assign time out of your busy schedule to focus on your business, career plans or the direction in which you would like to go.  I am sure many ideas would come to the surface if I were to adopt the same rule in my life. 

How do you keep yourself motivated especially through challenging periods?

24 thoughts on “Where do you go for inspiration?”

  1. Am I missing something? If a given week is “loaded with activities”, then why not follow Lenie’s example and write about those activities? Take it as a challenge to write about them in an engaging and imaginative way! Each activity has its own ‘story’: if you don’t tell that story, who will?

    Like

    1. I don’t think it is always that easy. I mean, I had a ton of things happen over the weekend with my kids, but the blog I am trying to build is about my martial arts training, so NONE of those experiences could generate topics for my site.

      I am with you on this one, Phoenicia. Sometimes it is hard to keep writing fresh.

      Like

  2. Like Donna and Ken, I have many blogs started (I use Scrivener, so it’s easy to pop from blog to blog as I see fit) and work on them randomly. When I’ve had a trip, like Wales, it’s very easy to find inspiration in the events, sights, people, the entire experience of traveling. Otherwise, life just keeps me going. Good luck with your ideas!

    Like

  3. For me, it is getting into the woods and hunting for two weeks. It is being not only in nature, but part of nature that is my inspiration. Being the hunter, and sometimes hunted places me into man’s simplistic time.Totally removed from the electronics and business that makes my life hectic. I can see inspiration in every animal, plant, trees and creeks in nature.

    Like

  4. I often have a list of post ideas that spans weeks into the future. Like Ken, I may work on several well ahead of when I plan to post. But sometimes it can be hard to find motivation even with the list. In that case or when I run out of ideas, I try to relax and do something else fun or creative or go for a walk. Then the ideas often materialize seemingly from nowhere. Sometimes we need to give our conscious mind a rest and stop trying so hard.

    Like

    1. I agree Donna. Ideas do not arise with force but often when we are relaxing. Also I tell myself I am blogging by choice; I enjoy it and should not see it as a chore.

      Like

  5. Phoenicia, I usually get my ideas from what I happen to be doing that week – gardening, researching things of interest, finding new ways to preserve herbs, etc. Fortunately my blog niche – interesting frugal living – leaves lots of room for different topics.

    Like

  6. My inspiration comes from 3 sources, my subscribers, my own experiences, and blogs in my niche, in that order. Right now I have a couple of dozen “topic” folders for future posts and when I come across an interesting bit of research or image that relates to one of those topics I pop it into the folder. I also keep a spreadsheet that lists all of my published posts by date and category. This not only serves as a quick reference but helps me to vary the topics so I don’t get stuck on one theme. As far as staying motivated through challenging periods, I just push through it.

    Like

  7. Great question. For me doing something is a key to motivation on other things especially writing a blog post. It helps me to rest my mind and allow the topics to come naturally. For example, there were many times that while doing chores, I got inspired for a blog post. So, now I just make it a point to do chores around the house to spark my inspiration. =)

    Like

  8. Personally find that when I need to find inspiration or find a solution to something the best way is to do something pleasant. Then ideas start flowing. The best moment is actually when you fall asleep or wake up and suddenly know what to do.

    Like

  9. It can be difficult to keep yourself motivated to keep writing a blog. Sometimes I feel like I’ve written about everything and I can’t possibly think of anything. But I remember what I’m trying to get in the big picture and that helps me stick with my goals. And yes, the unknown is a huge part of being a business owner. It can be very stressful, but the rewards are high too. So you trade stability for the opportunity to pursue a dream.

    Like

  10. When it comes to blogging, I post one or two times a week on a regular basis, but I don’t write on a regular basis. I tend to have times when I’ll write three or four or more posts in a day or two and then hold them and publish once or twice a week. Of course, my blog is a personal one. I’m not trying to make money or promote business so if I’ve got nothing to say, I just skip a week.

    Like

    1. Ken – I write weekly so feel under pressure to come up with good content. At present I am writing because of my passion but eventually I would like to make an income from it. Consistency is important for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

