Anxiety – do you suffer with it?

anxiety-cycle.png.cf

Anxiety according to Oxford Dictionary is;

“A feeling of worry, nervousness or unease, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome.”

I believe we have all felt anxious at one point or another in our lives; whether it be waiting for our exam results, preparing for an interview, or stepping out into the unknown. However, if anxiety becomes a part of our everyday life, we will be on a downward slope to worrying about everything and nothing.  

Often,the very things we worry about do not actually pan out in the way we had expected. Which brings the question of why we waste energy thinking about what might be? Why do we miss special moments because our minds are occupied about issues we have very little control of?

Control plays a huge part in anxiety; the uncertainty can affect those who like to live to absolute order. I suffer with anxiety on occasion and am learning to be flexible, remembering that no matter how much I plan; delays and disappointments will crop up.  When it does, it has no bearing on me or my abilities. It is simply life!

Worry which is a “close cousin” of anxiety brings no benefit to us. It does not change our circumstances at all, well except our mood and lack of joy.

Of course, there will be days when our emotions will get the better of us and we will succumb to anxiety due to our circumstances. There is absolutely no reason why we have to stay in this mindset and allow anxiety to consume us. So much so that we lose the ability to notice the rays of sunshine that pop up in our lives. We all have them!

What are your thoughts on anxiety? 

What are your coping strategies for dealing with anxiety?

36 thoughts on “Anxiety – do you suffer with it?”

  1. Thank you for this post Phoenicia and having the courage to write about Anxiety. I try not to worry knowing that worrying wil not change anything. But Going to the gym, taking Long walks helps.

    Like

  2. Some things are worth worrying about, other things clearly aren’t. If you can confine your worrying to the former and if (per heraldmarty’s comment) your worrying spurs you to get up and do something about whatever it is that you’re worrying about, then worrying can be a good thing. Conversely, if worrying is accompanied by a state of paralysis, then that’s bad, no question.

    Like

  3. I’ve had anxiety about certain things on and off for years. I try to remain positive and think positive thoughts.

    Like

  4. I like the circle graph, and you are correct all those feelings are all connected.
    I know for me, when fear or anxiety starts, I have to mentally put that genie back into the bottle before it take root.
    Thanks for sharing this with us.

    Like

  5. Phoenicia — everybody experiences anxiety at one time or another — even during happy occasions like your wedding day. I try to minimize anxiety by telling myself, “I can’t worry about things I can’t control.” It mainly works. If I get stuck in a traffic jam that will make me late, I don’t get all anxious. What can I do? I can’t control the traffic.

    Like

  6. Great post and great comments. I can allow myself to have anxiety once in a while, but am darned quick to slap it out of myself! My Mother worried about everything–and I mean everything. My Father was a great optimist–which is where I mostly spend my life. When I feel anxiety creeping in (Will I win this writing contest? Will an agent like my mystery?), I have to stop immediately and turn to my Bible and pray.

    That’s how I cope!

    Like

  7. It’s very seldom I worry because once you understand that it’s all in your mind you will be less prone to worry. Yesterday though I got a bit worried because the result of an exam was delayed. Today I found out I had passed with excellence. An old man once said to me: “Whatever happens to you in life it’s up to you how you perceive it”. And that’s spot on. If you want to suffer, by all means go ahead and worry:-)

    Like

  8. Phoenicia, I really liked Michele’s comment – “I believe that worrying is like praying for what you don’t want”. I am going to type that out and pin it to my bulletin board.

    Like

  9. Sometimes I have this vague sense of anxiety without actually knowing exactly what I’m being anxious about. The solution to that is really to just think it through and I usually convince myself that I really don’t have anything I should be worrying about.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. It’s only natural to worry, but like anything in life, doing something too much becomes unhealthy. We perpetuate unhealthy emotions by letting them get carried away, yet there are times when it’s necessary to let an emotion run its course. Mostly, I just ask myself if I’m going myself any favors by giving in to the anxiety and the answer is usually no. It’s easier to get it under control after that.

    Like

  11. Important topic Phoenicia and you are so right about the control issue. In my family depression was the neurosis of choice so I don’t really have any firsthand experience with anxiety. Like most people I dabble in worry from time to time, but my antidote to that is to take action – even if it’s just one small thing – it keeps me feeling positive and hopeful.

    Like

  12. I believe that worrying is like praying for what you don’t want. Nothing is really under our control anyway, yet, in the long run we find that everything happens for a reason. I prefer to live in the present moment and trust God, Life, etc. with the understanding that all things evolve and unfold as they are meant to. I write extensively on the subject of anxiety in my book, “From Confusion To Clarity.”

    Like

  13. I’ve suffered horrible anxiety in my life stemming from early traumatic experiences. Anxiety can really be like an out of control locomotive. And you make a good point. Worry is just looking at the worst possible scenario and making it appear real. Really recognizing that can be an important step in healing.

    Like

  14. Hi Phonecia,

    I met you on Marquita’s blog and noticed your comment Luv on this topic of anxiety. I have “suffered” through severe anxiety for a while. What I learned through so many avenues is “self talk” What I mean by this is when I’m feeling anxious physically and emotionally, I listen to my thoughts of worry or fear. Then whatever that is, I tell myself the opposite. Say I’m worrying over finances and my mind is swirling. I stop. Then think of all I have. Then say some affirmations to myself and just flip the script. If it gets really bad I say it out loud. Works for me!

    Cheers!

    -Donna

    Like

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog, Donna.

      Daily self affirmation works wonders. I have printed affirmations on the inside of my wardrobe which I see at least twice a day. The problem I have is not being consistent with reading them out loud.

      Like

  15. At an intellectual level I understand that worry is generally a waste of time, although I admit to being prone to worrying about things at times. There is a great quote I’ve heard “Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, it only saps today of its joy”. I do want to make a distinction though between the kind of worrying anxiety many of us feel from the more severe anxiety disorders which need medical attention.

    Like

    1. That quote is so true. We should take one day at a time rather than worrying about what may come. I feel slight anxiety can lead to a serious disorder if it is not carefully monitored.

      Like

  16. Anxiety is a very important topic. I applaud you for taking it on. Anxiety takes our present moments and ruins them with worry about the future and sometimes even with worry about the past. My best strategy is to think along two lines: 1) my worrying will not change anything, and what will happen will happen; it is what it is. 2) I have made it through past difficulties, and I will make it through this one, so I’m going to STOP worrying and obsessing over something I can’t change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

