The dangers of pride

peril-of-pride-the_t_nv.jpg.cf-1

The well known saying “Pride comes before a fall” is taken from the bible in the book of Proverbs 16:18.

The actual scripture is “Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.”

Too much pride can have devastating consequences on an individual and those around them. It can ruin relationships between friends, family members and acquaintances.

1. Pride can distort one’s perception of a particular situation. 

2. Pride can lead one to think only of himself, his personal gain and his image. Proudful people tend to be very inward thinking.

3. Pride can make one arrogant, believing he is ‘better’ than others due to his education,     wealth or talents. 

4.  Pride can lead a person in a position of authority to abuse his power.  

5.  Pride can lead one to make silly mistakes due to overlooking simple but important factors. A proudful person is less likely to 
accept and run with the ideas of another.

Is pride in itself a bad thing? No, it is good to recognise your talents and achievements. This encourages you to move forward in life pursuing your goals. However too much pride can give you an inflated ego and cause you to believe you are indispensable.

Modesty and humbleness are underated in today’s ‘every man for themselves’ society. Some people are self centred, driven only by their own needs and desires. They want to be centre stage.

There have been specific times in my life where pride consumed me and I immediately recognised it for what it was.  I knew it derived from my insecurities and ‘owned’ it rather than blaming it on my situation or another person.

I have learned that you cannot control the situations you find yourself in but you can control the attitude you choose to maintain throughout.  

Do you recognise when pride creeps in?  

How do you deal with pride?

29 thoughts on “The dangers of pride”

  1. I think it’s okay to be prideful when bona fide hard work has gone into achieving something. However, nobody like a braggart. I know I downplay my studies because most people probably want to roll their eyes, but I worked very hard for my education and am proud of doing so.

    Like

  2. We should never let our pride be bigger than our hearts. I think authentic pride is a total package. When some has true pride it’s visible in how they carry themselves, engage with others, and how they care for their living space and personal items.

    Like

  3. Well said Phoenicia and oh, yes I know when pride starts getting in the way. Most of the time I am quite even tempered but occasionally something will suddenly set me off and it’s pretty much always my ego talking so I do my best to get a handle on whatever it is right quick. Thanks for the great reminder!

    Like

  4. Great post, Phoenicia! Not that I don’t have my own issues being prideful at the wrong times or to the wrong degree (Seester usually slaps it out of me–HA!), but I have one friend who is nearly exhausting in his pridefulness. It makes it difficult to applaud him when he does something he should be proud of because he is already busy patting himself on is back. It’s a challenge to know how to point out to him that perhaps he should include a little modesty in his life.

    Like

  5. This post got me thinking about the many sides to pride and I looked up the definition in the dictionary. I found 3 definitions: a feeling that you respect yourself, a feeling that you are better than others, and a joyful feeling when you or someone you care about does something good or difficult. It is the middle version that causes the problems you’ve highlighted. Like Meredith, I think it often comes from deep-seated insecurity which leads to actions to build oneself up at the expense of others. Pride also sometimes stops us from mending fractured relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I join you Phoenicia in wishing that modesty and humbleness were more highly valued in our society. I guess there is a fine line between the kind of pride that we would admire in others and the kind that turns you into a self-absorbed jerk.

    Like

  7. I do think that pride often comes from a place of insecurity, which seems ironic to me. I totally agree that proud people tend to be inward looking, which is probably the root of the problem!

    Like

  8. For me, I am, and need the total opposite.
    I lack any pride of for that matter self confidence, and force myself not to have any. I know this seems strange, but without pride or confidence, I am constantly driving myself, thinking I am not good enough. It is this drive that keeps me in the gym, keeps me researching and learning more each day.

    Reading your post, I am reminded of all the Aesop fables that deal with pride before destruction. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. William – thank you for sharing. Lack of confidence does tend to make one be hard on themselves. There is an ongoing desire to prove to yourself, not even to the world. I have been there!

      Like

  9. When on a consultations, I deal with pride on a regular basis, pride of their things, pride of what they have become. And, with that they also have shame that they couldn’t handle the other areas of their lives. So, I choose to be flexible when working with clients. No need to push them to let go of their pride. They will realize it and deal with their process soon enough.

    Like

  10. I think in my life I’ve actually needed to take more pride in what I do. I often dismiss my accomplishments and don’t celebrate the little victories as much as I should. I’ve known people who think they are better than others. And it is true that many of them started with a deep insecurity. It is a balance of having a healthy amount of pride, but not so much that it makes you narcissistic or stop growing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

