Stop procrastinating and just do it!

WWS-Procrastinate1

Procrastination can hinder people from moving forward.  I will even go as far to say that it is crippling and serves no purpose whatsoever.  I believe it is part of our nature to want to focus on those things that we enjoy most. It is here that we are comfortable and confident.

I am definitely not a procrastinator. If I make up my mind to do something, I do it. For years I could not understand why people ‘sat on’ tasks especially those that take five minutes. Was it a fear of the unknown, no motivation or an element of laziness? The thought of taking on something new can be distressing but the longer you delay, the more challenging it becomes.

I try to live by this rule;

“Do not put off for tomorrow, what you can do today”!

We should not take time for granted, it is precious and we cannot claim it back.

With two young children, I work on my blog and side business during my commute and late at night. It is not always easy but during this time I can fully apply myself with little or no interruptions.

Read my five tips below on how to overcome procrastinating;

1. Take small steps. Look at your task and take out a few easy elements. This is where you build momentum.

2. Avoid too much planning as this is just another form of procrastination.

3. Stop making excuses as to why you cannot work on your project:

“I am too tired”

“I am not in the mood”

“I work well under pressure.”

4. Do not overthink as this could lead to self doubt.

5. Think about how valuable the project is. What is your expected outcome? This will keep you pushing forward until the end.

Are you a procrastinator? If so, how are you trying to improve on this?

Or perhaps you have no issues with starting projects.

31 thoughts on “Stop procrastinating and just do it!”

    1. There tends be one or two tasks that though we would like to complete are not at all urgent. There is a temptation to roll these over to the following day and so on.

      Like

  1. Spot on Phoenicia.

    For the most part I’ve never been a procrastinator. Boy, I wish I could say the same thing about my brother. The guy drives me nuts.

    I think at times when I may not follow through with something is mainly because I don’t feel like it’s the best thing for me or I might not be in the mood that particular day. For the most part though when I say I’m going to do something I do it. I like to keep my word and not be one of those you can’t count on.

    Your tips are great though and of course we all need that probing from time to time. I’m sure your suggestions will definitely help others with this issue.

    ~Adrienne

    Like

    1. Glad you like my tips Adrienne. It sounds as though you and your brother are complete opposites.

      I could not agree more that you should carry out whatever you have committed to. People will hold you to your word.

      Like

  2. Well said and terrific tips Phoenicia! I’ve never had a problem with procrastination, but I’ve certainly known and worked with many people who do. Anyone can overcome procrastination but they have to first admit it’s a problem for them, and very often that’s the biggest stumbling block. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

    1. Thanks Marquita.

      As you have said, it is possible to overcome this but only if you are willing to put in the work.

      You commented on my ‘declutter your wardrobe’ post and somehow it was highlighted as spam. I tried but could not retrieve it.

      Like

  3. I used to procrastinate all the time. A couple years ago I made a huge effort to stop doing it. It has worked. I’ve been able to get more focused about a lot of things.

    Like

  4. I’m much more the type of person who wants to do things right now. My husband jokes that I can never sit still. Having said that, I think we all have at least something that we procrastinate about. I’m bad about making telephone appointments just because I hate doing it. In general though, I get things done ASAP

    Like

  5. Great tips! Excuses can really stop people from getting things done. I have clients that tell me that I need to be there to help them go through the stuff and help them stay honest. That is OK if we organize together often. If not, it’s just an excuse. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. I used to be better at not procrastinating, but the tendency has grown worse with time. In graduate school, I put off a few 20-page papers until a few days before they were due and did just as well on them. Before I always started projects right away. I’m a bit like Leora too in that at time there is just too must I want to do!

    Like

    1. 20 page documents left to the last minute! You definitely work well under pressure.

      I am trying to stick to the rule of doing several things in excellence rather than doing many averagely.

      Like

  7. Procrastination isn’t really my issue. My current issue: I want to do everything! And well! I recently started taking a sewing class. I love it, but then I spent all Sunday sewing and helping my daughter instead of painting or gardening. Can’t do everything!

    Like

  8. I have always tackled the tough jobs first – that way I can sit back and take my time with tasks I enjoy. If I leave the tough jobs I’ll stew and fret about them, basically ruining my day. Best to get them out of the way.

    Like

  9. I don’t think that I’m normally a procrastinator, but I can’t say that I’ve never done it. I agree with you though, I can think of no purpose that procrastination serves.

    Like

  10. I am not usually a procrastinator, but I think there are times all of us put things off – for a variety of reasons. There are a couple of completely different ways to get going on one of those projects, One way is to start on a small piece we know we can do and may give immediate feedback. The other is to dig right into what we find the scariest.

    Like

    1. Donna – yes there are likely to be a number of reasons why people procrastinate. I often find that the mere thought of doing something can appear more challenging/overwhelming than actually doing it.

      Like

  11. Valuable tips. If it’s important to me or someone else I don’t procrastinate Phoenicia. I also learned from a coaching mentor that sometimes when we procrastinate, it might be a valuable decision. It’s learning whether it’s helpful or hurtful that takes some sorting out so a person can – just do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

