Declutter, declutter, declutter!

Declutter

There is a well known quote by William Morris;
Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful”.

I wonder how many people own items they no longer use or need? Perhaps they keep these items out of habit or because they believe they may require them one day. Some have attachments to particular items as they remind them of their childhood/youth or a lost loved one.

It is almost impossible difficult to maintain order in the home if we possess too many items. For one you will run out of storage space and two, it will grow increasingly difficult to find these items when you need them.

I am ruthless when deciding which items to keep or discard of. If it no longer serves a purpose, then it has to go. Of course I become attached to things just as others do but I have found solutions. I have keepsake boxes for my chidren which include scans, baby album, their first tooth/baby grow/outfit/shoes/celebration cards/medical notes. I also have a box for my husband and I with wedding photographs and cards we have given to one another for birthdays and anniversaries.

My daughter has toy storage underneath her bed and a toy box which she barely opens! Every month or two whilst she is sleeping I sort through her box and discard of broken toys or puzzles with missing pieces. The majority of the time she does not even notice.

Every few months I sort through my children’s clothes to identify which items need to be thrown out or given to charity. I also have a quick sort through my wardrobe which I find quite therapeutic. Occasionally I venture into my husband’s wardrobe which is bursting at the seams to create a pile of clothes he no longer wears. It is then his decision to keep or throw them.

Do you have a different system that works well for you?
I would like to hear from you .

 

 

Leave a Reply

